Contributing to OpenSolaris, Step 1

November 20, 2006 at 3:42 pm 6 comments

OK, so I previously wrote about contributing code/fixes to OpenSolaris.

I’m starting to put my money where my mouth is…

Step 1 is to sign over copyright to anything I do, by completing a Sun Contributor Agreement.

I’ve faxed it off. I’ll keep you posted when I get a response.

Entry filed under: OpenSolaris.

FMA Step 1 Complete

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. leeg  |  November 21, 2006 at 11:58 am

    I’ve got to go through the assignment process for the Free Software Foundation…which is a bit more “we pwn your code” than the Sun one. It feels like signing part of my soul away…

    Reply
  • 2. Chris Ridd  |  November 21, 2006 at 9:53 pm

    I didn’t see any mention of “first born” in the doc…

    Reply
  • 3. Step 1 Complete « Solarizer  |  November 21, 2006 at 9:56 pm

    […] Clearly I managed to fax the right side of the paper to Sun, because they’ve given me a “Sun Contributor Number”. That means I am now able to submit patches! […]

    Reply
  • 4. leeg  |  November 21, 2006 at 10:03 pm

    My point is that the FSF own any contributions I make to GNU software, whereas OpenSolaris contributions are jointly attributed between you and Sun. But then you knew that 😉

    Reply
  • 5. Chris Ridd  |  November 21, 2006 at 10:49 pm

    Yup. Well I knew the deal from Sun – I’ve never looked into what you have to with the GPL.

    Of course if Sun switches from the CDDL to the GPL for OpenSolaris I may end up finding out.

    So what project are you going to work on?

    Reply
  • 6. leeg  |  November 22, 2006 at 12:38 am

    GNUstep – unsurprisingly 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

OpenSolaris

access(2) OpenSolaris

